Riot of Spring Kicks-Off RSNO’s New Autumn Season

RSNO Conductor Thomas Søndergård
RSNO Conductor Thomas Søndergård

The new Royal Scottish National Orchestra season gets underway with Igor Stravinsky’s revolutionary The Rite of Spring (Edinburgh and Glasgow on 30th Sept and 1st Oct). When it premiered in Paris in 1913, the avant-garde nature of the work famously caused a riot, and it has gone on to be one of the most influential compositions in the history of classical music. The RSNO season continues in Dundee, Edinburgh, Glasgow and Aberdeen with Saint-Saens’ Organ Symphony, Dvorak’s Symphony No. 7, Beethoven’s Symphony No. 5 and, for younger listeners, Space Invasion, an extra-terrestrial-themed collection of works.

Share this page

Sign up for Artmag’s free weekly newsletter!

Join us every Friday morning for the latest art news, art openings, exhibitions, live performances, interviews and stories + top UK and international art destinations.