RSNO’s Master Mix

The acclaimed American violinist Randall Goosby
Acclaimed American violinist Randall Goosby


From: 21 Apr 2023

To: 29 Apr 2023

Edinburgh, Glasgow

Share this page

The Royal Scottish National Orchestra RSNO continues its season with Tchaikovsky’s Pathetique Symphony (he used a Russian word meaning ‘passionate’ or ‘emotional’), which was his final masterpiece. Here it is paired with the composer’s exuberant and joyous Violin Concerto, performed by acclaimed American violinist Randall Goosby (pictured), and Johansen’s nature-inspired Pan. 

Next up is Intimate Brahms, a chamber concert demonstrating why he has been described as music’s ultimate romantic dreamer and including the gorgeous Clarinet Quintet and playful Piano Trio. This is followed by epic music in the form of Rachmaninov’s Piano Concerto No. 3 and Shostakovich’s powerful Symphony No. 10 performed by pianist Leif Ove Andsnes and conducted by RSNO Music Director Thomas Søndergård.

Share this page

Sign up for Artmag’s free weekly newsletter!

Join us every Friday morning for the latest art news, art openings, exhibitions, live performances, interviews and stories + top UK and international art destinations.