Gabrielle Gillott, Safe Haven - mixed media
Gabrielle Gillott, Safe Haven - mixed media

Royal Scottish Academy, Edinburgh: RSA New Contemporaries 2020 Winners

Visit website

Exhibition: 15th February – 11th March

The winners of the RSA New Contemporaries 2020 Awards at the Royal Scottish Academy have been announced. Congratulations to all the prize-winners!

Starting with the RSA’s Internal Awards:

Sir William Gillies Bequest Award £2,000 (split), any category:
Meabh Breathnach and Emma Hislop

RSA Patrons Award £1,000, any category:
Lucia Pearla

RSA Friends Award £1,000 (split), any category:
Hugo Harris and Alex Hayward

RSA Art Prize £400, any category:
Suzanne Anthony

RSA Art Prize £400, any category:
Katherine Fay Allan

RSA Architecture Prize £400, for architecture:
Kate Le Masurier and Andrew Chavet

RSA New Contemporaries Medal For Architecture Medal & £100, for architecture:
Jodie Kellas Wilson

RSA Carnegie Scholarship plus The Maclaine Watters Medal £200 & medal, for painting:
Brandon Logan

RSA Adam Bruce Thomson Award £150, any category:
Hannah Crooks

RSA Landscape Award £150, for drawing, oil or watercolour:
Renee Hunter

RSA Chalmers Bursary £150, any category:
Noel Griffin

RSA Stuart Prize £150, any category:
Leila Kleineidam

RSA Chalmers-Jervise Prize £150, any category:
Shilei Fan

Continuing with External Awards:

The Glenfiddich Artist In Residence Award £10,000 (£4,200 for a three-month residency including studio space, accommodation and a material allowance of up to £5,800. Exhibition opportunity at Glenfiddich with a work accessioned to the Glenfiddich Collection), any category:
Gabrielle Gillott (see work pictured)

The Walter Scott Award £2,000 + purchase:
Lucia Pearla

Fleming-Wyfold Art Foundation Award £1500, for a painter, draughtsman or sculptor:
Emma-Louise Grady

David and June Gordon Memorial Trust Award(s) Up to £750, for artists living in the Grampian Region or studied at Gray’s School of Art or at the Moray College of Art campus of UHI:
1st Prize (£500)
Erica Paterson
2nd Prize (£250)
Naomi McClure

Arusha Gallery Award £1,000 plus a solo exhibition at Arusha Gallery, for painting:
Zuzana Ullmannová

Art In Healthcare Purchase Prize supported by the Hope Scott Trust. Purchase prize, any category: Ruby Pluhar

Edinburgh Sculpture Workshop Graduate Research Award a package of developmental support including one year membership, £300 bursary to use on production materials and training time with our technicians, and 2 days mentoring by other members of ESW’s programming staff. For sculpture:
Emma Hislop

Edinburgh Printmakers Publishing Award The opportunity to work on a limited-edition print project with assistance from one of our studio master-printers. For printmaking:
Zuzana Ullmannová

Glasgow Print Studio Award Membership and session fees for one year. For printmaking:
Renee Hunter

Admission £6/£4. Free on Mondays.

Princes Street,
Edinburgh EH2 2EL

Image: Gabrielle Gillott, Safe Haven – mixed media

Many thanks to the RSA for their assistance.


Share this page

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on email